rcasa

RCASA Volunteer Corner

In Advocacy, Education, Sexual Assault Awareness, Volunteer on January 15, 2012 at 5:00 am

Okay, so you know I am a volunteer at RCASA right?  Right!  Well I also work at a coffee shop.  The other day while I was working, I overheard part of a conversation between two high school aged guys and a gal about the same age.

Now, there is a lot of noise in most coffee shops, voices ebb and flow through the building, customers at the counter place orders, I talk to customers, music plays, and conversations about orders to my co-workers makes it so I am never paying attention to any person’s specific conversation in the café.

I say all that so you understand I wasn’t eaves-dropping, but when I heard “You saw what she was wearing right?  She totally wanted it.”  My head almost exploded.  All the other noise in the shop died down and I was singularly focused on what this girl had said.

Now, I wasn’t sure what they were talking about because I had only overheard that bit, but my focus remained on those three.  Next thing I know one of the young men said, “That’s crap!  She’s hot and maybe dressed a little over the top, but no one deserves that, no matter what.  That guy is a real piece of $#*!, I hope she’s okay, and I hope you wake the &^@% up!”

So, maybe I wouldn’t have used such colorful language, but YOU GO BOY.

Thank you, for recognizing when a friend is wrong, and having the courage to say the right thing.

  1. […] opportunity to help RCASA! Okay, so you know I’m a volunteer, and remember I told you I work at a coffee shop.  My store likes to do things that give back to the community, so we decided as a store to put […]

Leave a Reply

