rcasa

Prevention Tuesdays: Kids Talk Back! What Spotsylvania 7th Graders are Learning About Teen Dating Violence

In Sexual Assault Awareness on December 13, 2011 at 4:00 am

As of December 19th we I will have presented the Choose Respect, Anti-Violence curriculum to over 2,000 middle schoolers in Spotsylvania county! The presentations and feedback so far have been both enlightening and humbling. While many people believe that teens, and even “tweens” do not experience intimate partner violence, 1 in 11 young people reports being a victim of physical dating abuse.

For this weeks blog I thought I would include some of the comments we have recieved from youth on the Choose Respect program:

“I already knew about healthy relationships, but I really liked learning about how and why people use violence.” – Female, age 12, Thornburg Middle School

“You shouldn’t be too bossy or people won’t like you, if you think you are in an unhealthy relationship you should tell a friend or adult.” –Female, age 12, Freedom Middle School

“I liked talking about how a lot of kids don’t realize when they are being abused.” –Female, age 12, Freedom Middle School

“I like the presentation because it shows the importance of relationship problems. I liked when the boy who hit the girl knew what he did was wrong and took responsibility”- Male, age 12, Freedom Middle School

“Unhealthy relationships can harm the people around you also, you should always be kind to your partner.” –Male, age 12, Freedom Middle School

“I liked it best when they showed that not just girls go through this, boys do too.”-Female, age 13, Freedom Middle

“You can’t change someone, they have to change themselves.” Female, age 12, Post Oak Middle

“Healthy relationships mean equal power for both sides.” –Male, age 12, Post Oak Middle

“If they control your whole life, they are not the one for you.”-Male, age 13, Post Oak Middle

“I liked when it said don’t let the other person control you because last year my ex-girlfriend would always abuse and get mad at me for nothing, and it made me feel real bad.” –Male, age 12, Post Oak Middle

“I liked how it showed the ugly side of relationships and gave the needed truth.” Female, age 13, Post Oak Middle

“I learned that unhealthy relationships can happen to anyone.” –Female, age 12, Post Oak Middle

“In an unhealthy relationship people can be abused both physically and mentally.”- Female, age 12, Post Oak Middle School

If you would like to schedule a presentation for your school or community group please contact me via email at rosie@rcasa.org.

Leave a Reply

