rcasa

RCASA Saturday with Case Management: Sex Trafficking…1st and Independence, US Capitol…that’s right!

In Sexual Assault Awareness on July 30, 2011 at 5:00 am

Debt gridlock isn’t the only thing happening in our Nation’s Capitol. I mean how is that pimps, thugs, and sex traffickers are making and budgeting billions and Congress can’t even figure out how to manage the country’s budget. So when President Obama, Nancy Pelosi, John McCain, Orrin Hatch or WHOEVER… (personally this isn’t about candidate affiliation) it’s about the face that when they leave the building do they know that the streets they walk on change in the midnight hours. Do they know these streets become dark and clutter with the death and destruction represented by a world of forced sex, drugs, and pain?? I would like to know. Do they care, do they have aclue? Maybe I am being harsh…maybe someone does know. But who….who knows….who talks about it? Who says, hey world….there are people here women, men (yes men), girls and boys (children), that are trapped; that don’t know how to get out… That don’t know they have a right to live, they have a right to be free. When I think about that, the price of gas doesn’t piss me off as much. In fact, I am thankful that I am free to go to the gas station, in my car, and pay for the gas, with money I earned. Because these sex slaves are forced to sell their bodies and work to give hundreds of dollars to their pimps, who then go and buy MORE people. Or who then go by fancy cars, houses, and drugs, whatever. Honestly, you have probably shopped right next to these traffickers at Tyson Mall or Potomac, or even sat next to them at Burger King! Really people, do you care? I know I do. I mean I work at a rape crisis center. I know that we need to do more about the trafficking that is happening in Fredericksburg…yes my suburban and rural friends…it is happening.

My hubby and I are going to head up to DC in the next two weeks to observe what is going on? I will report back what I see and hear… and then maybe you will believe that something is going on and something must be done to stop it.

That’s right folks its happening. What will you do?

http://edition.cnn.com/video/#/video/us/2011/06/27/cfp.dc.trafficking.starr.cnn

visit Courtney House http://www.courtneyshouse.org/About-Us.html

I hope you have enjoyed July’s blog theme: Freedom from Slavery…. Stay tuned to see where the journey takes us next month!

Leave a Reply

