rcasa

RCASA Volunteer Corner

In Volunteer on June 12, 2011 at 8:12 am

Times are tough and money is tight, right?  I know it is for us right now, prices going up, school costs a fortune, and I don’t work as many paying hours as I used to so that I can devote time to my degree.  Charitable organizations and philanthropies have seen a dip in charitable giving too. It’s unfortunate but makes sense; if you have to decide between groceries and supporting a charity, chances are groceries will win.

You can make a difference with an organization without donating money.  You can donate your time.  Let me give you an idea about what I’ve done at RCASA.  Here is how my first day went:

  • Meet and greet.  I got to meet everybody in the office and spent some time talking to each of them about what they do, what RCASA is.
  • Organizing the supply closet.
  • Organizing the many pamphlets, brochures and flyers used at out reach events.
  • Collating, stapling, and stuffing hospital paperwork.

Kinda seems silly right?  Organizing a closet– that needs a touch up right about now!  It’s just one of those things someone wants to get around to, but really the clients being the priority it falls to the bottom of the ‘to-do’ list.  It’s something I could do easily and everyone was pretty thankful.  One of the great parts was during that organizing and stuffing, I chatted with everyone in the office about all sorts of stuff.  I met some new folks and learned a little more about this AWESOME organization.

If you don’t volunteer anywhere now and have a few hours to spare, please give it some thought!  If you can’t donate money, consider donating your time and skills.  When I started volunteering at RCASA I had no idea what to expect. It has been great so far. The tasks are pretty simple, the work needs to be done, and my donation of time costs me very little and saves them money.

Do you volunteer anywhere?  Where?  What kind of work do you do?

Volunteer.  It’s fun and you get to do some good without spending a dime.

__________________________________________________________________________________________________

Interested in Volunteering at RCASA?

Contact RCASA to learn about opportunities, training, and commitment details.

 

Leave a Reply

