rcasa

Sunday Morning with Case Management: Standing against sexual violence!

In Case Management, Education, Outreach, Prevention, Sexual Assault Awareness on November 21, 2010 at 8:00 am

Sexual violence represents a darker side of human kind.  We know it exists but most people would rather not deal with it or hear about it.   Last Sunday I featured a blog that talked about sibling sexual assault.  Sexual assault is happening all around us whether we choose to ignore it or not.  My hope is that with exposure, people can become educated about sexual assault and start working to fight it. 

I am still trying to figure out the best direction for this blog.  I think it is best to just let ideas develop and I have taken the view that I am just going to speak from my heart.  So here I go…

How as a nation can we stand up and against sexual violence.  I mean, I am a wife and a mother, so what is my role.  Nevermind that I work at a Sexual Assault Crisis agency.  WHAT IS MY ROLE IN THE COMMUNITY?  We should ask ourselves that question.  What is my role?  Do I have a role in this? 

So yesterday I was surfing the net and I came across this…maybe you’ve seen it too…
ABC News reported on A 170 page  manual found in Orange County, Florida on How to Molest Children, including where to find them and how to victimize them.   I have attached the link for you to review http://www.theblaze.com/stories/fl-cops-manual-on-how-to-molest-children-is-legal/

Basically in Orange County this book is “legal.”  So I don’t get it.. I mean I get freedom of speech and everything, but I just attended a court case for a child that was sexually violated by a neighborhood stranger.  I saw the pain of the family, this child’s life will not be the same, and the guiltlessness of the perpetrator.  So what I don’t get is the doublemindedness. 

So I have to ask myself, as a nation is this what we stand for.  I know that everyday I wake up and go to work, I stand for the rights of my clients.  I stand for the victim, when are we, as a nation going to stand up and say no to being held hostage and victimized! 

Today I challenge you to ask yourself…what is my role? What can I do in my community to fight for people who cannot fight for themselves?  I challenge you to get up be heard and STAND. 

STAND!

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by Pixel Project Team, michael mcbrearty, MJPCONGO, MJPCONGO, Gloria and others. Gloria said: RT @safeworld4women: R @PixelProject R @RCASA102: Standing against sexual violence!: http://wp.me/pAwr3-mI #sexualassault #vaw […]

  2. […] Sunday Morning w&#1110t&#1211 Case Management: Standing against sexual violence! « Rappahannoc… […]

Leave a Reply

