rcasa

RCASA’s Sunday Morning with Case Management

In Case Management, Sexual Assault Awareness on October 3, 2010 at 8:00 am

Good Sunday Morning to you.  So I think we are living in very politically charged times.  Everything from community safety and terrorism to education to economy, has strong political waves running through it.  Last weekend I briefly addressed Domestic Child Sex Trafficking in the United States.  This weekend I want to briefly challenge you to think about what is going on politically.

So here is a poll

 

Are you aware of this policy?  What does it mean to you? for you?  I encourage you to go and look at this Act.  I have included a link for you to review the  bill  http://frwebgate.access.gpo.gov/cgi-bin/getdoc.cgi?dbname=111_cong_bills&docid=f:s2925is.txt.pdf 

On November 2, 2010 we are all going back to the polls once again.  I recognize that many people are extremely worried about the current state of our economy, people are worried about housing, jobs, health care and the war on terror.  Take a closer look,  I encourage you to consider the domestic war we have going on.  The battle to win and protect our young women and children and our most vunerable.  So many victims that we don’t know about.  We have predators hiding behind computer screens, preying on young girls and boys, caretakers preying on their own daughters, sons, nieces and nephews.  All of this happening right here in the United States. 

I am not going to go into a long discuss about politics but I am going to ask you all if you are aware of the issues?  Are the candidates aware of the issues?  Remember we live in a democratic country,so  I encourage you not to accept lip service!  Voice your feelings and make sure you are heard.  Find out where the candidates in your area stand.  You can visit www.thomas.gov to check out bills in the House and in the Senate and see who is sponsoring and supporting them.  Get active and involved in the process.

As a Case Manager at my job, part of what I do is empower my clients.  Well, my hope is that this blog will empower you to move, speak, act and get involved in the community.  There are so many chances and so many reasons that, we as the community, should not turn our backs, especially on those who have little or no ability to speak their voice.

Leave a Reply

