rcasa

RCASA’ s Sunday Morning with Case Management

In Case Management, Sexual Assault Awareness on September 26, 2010 at 8:00 am

Hello and Good Sunday Morning to everyone out there.   I know it is early and it is Sunday, but I feel strongly that this topic needs discussed.

 It is so hard to imagine what our individual roles are in this world.  I mean there is so much going on.  How can we change it?  Where do we start?  Sexual Violence is out there!  It is both hidden and out in the open.  Some people know about it, some have no clue, some don’t know what to do, and some just don’t care.  So what do we do?  I say continue to spread the word.  I think we have to make it unavoidable and unacceptable.  You can’t ignore what you can’t avoid.  It is unacceptable for any person to be violated sexually, there is no explanation, reason, or excuse that justifies anyone being sexually violated.

So at 4:00pm on Thursday September 23, 2010, I trekked up  to our  United States Capitol for a documentary screening for Libby Spears’, Playground the child sex trade in AMERICA.  Please go and view the trailer at http://www.playgroundproject.com/.   This 74 minute movie does an excellent job of exploring the impact of the child sex trade industry in the United States. 

 It opens up a whole can of worms.  The fact of the matter is that we have a real problem here.   Children who are essentially being trained from an early age to become victims.  They are taught that they have little to no value in the world.  I mean, if the parents didn’t love and cherish these children, why would the rest of the world!?  But I am here to say that we, the people, must stop that mentality and stop it now.   Children are not commodities and they CANNOT, I repeat, CANNOT consent to sex! 

Internationally, children are being sexually victimized.  Domestically, children are being sexually  victimized.  It might even be happening right next door.  Interestingly enough as I was writing this blog, someone posted this link on Facebook  about Baby Brianna who was abused physically and sexually before she even turned six months old.  It isn’t recent but it is relevant.   It also isn’t a case of child sex trafficking, but had that child lived she might have been.  (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pkSN65cJOE)  If you watch this and don’t recognize that we need to act now, then I don’t know what to say.

I will continue to explore this issue of Domestic Child Sex Trafficking in upcoming blogs.  I will provide more information on legislation that is currently sitting in the US House of Representative and in the Senate. “Domestic Minor Sex Trafficking Deterrence and Victims Support Act of 2010”

 If you are interested in getting more information or joining a cause, here  the links to resources for more information.

National Center for Missing and Exploited Children:  http://www.missingkids.com/missingkids/servlet/PublicHomeServlet?LanguageCountry=en_US

Polaris Project:    http://www.polarisproject.org/

DC Stop Modern Slavery: http://www.stopmodernslavery.org/ 

Courtney’s House: http://www.courtneyshouse.org/

and please visit our website www.rcasa.org

  1. It is so true that the children who are born into sexual abuse do not have idea of their own value. They just know that they are suppose to keep a secret. The abuse may even be something that at first feels good. Children are not prepared to experience sex. They unemotionally equipped to deal with the good and the bad feelings. I know because I was one of those children, and while I believe I may be an exception to the rule, it took a long time to know that I am valuable to myself, and that I am worth more than what I thought I was.

Leave a Reply

