rcasa

RCASA’s Sunday Blog: Meet our Newest Intern!

In Advocacy, Sexual Assault Awareness on May 30, 2010 at 8:00 am

Hello, my name is Kristiana Poole. I was born in Woodbridge, VA in 1978 and moved to Fredericksburg, VA when I was baby and have been living here ever since.  I am a new intern at Rappahannock Council against Sexual Assault (RCASA).  I am also a full time student at Old Dominion University.  I’ve been happily married for 13 years, a mother of 4, and I work part time at Rappahannock Council on Domestic Violence (RCDV).  I guess if I was to summarize myself in one word, it would be BUSY.  My major is Human Services and my minor is Psychology. This internship is the final piece to completing my major.  I will be interning until mid August.

 I have a lot of previous experience in the helping field.  In the past I completed an internship at the Spotsylvania Victim/Witness office.  In my time there, I got a really close look at multiple domestic violence and sexual assault cases.  I accompanied victims to and through the court process.  That is when I began to be interested in working a little more closer with victims of domestic violence and sexual assault.  After completing my internship at Spotsylvania Victim/Witness, along with taking 7 psychology classes, I received a certificate for Para-Professional Counseling.  I have also completed 2 mini internships with Rappahannock Council for Children and Parents (RACCAP).  When I was there I assisted with the children’s groups and some of their fundraising events.  I also interned with Rappahannock Area office on Youth.  I assisted with their My Life project which is an afterschool program who works with at risk youth. 

I currently work at RCDV which is a non-profit organization that works with victims of domestic violence.  I am the Children Services Coordinator and have been employed close to a year now.  I assist all the children and their families that come into our shelter with whatever their needs are at the time and throughout their stay in our shelter.  I also coordinate/facilitate the children’s support groups.  I was really interested in interning with RCASA because I wanted to gain more knowledge and experience with working with clients who have been affected by sexual assault.   Some of my future goals are to become fluent in Spanish and to obtain my masters in either Counseling or Social Work.  I am really torn which way I want to go.  I am hoping that this internship may shed some light on that decision.  I am thrilled to be a part of what RCASA has to offer and look forward to all the experience I will gain interning this summer.

Leave a Reply

