rcasa

RCASA Wednesday Outreach with Corey

In Education, Outreach, Sexual Assault Awareness on April 27, 2010 at 3:59 pm

Do you know your rights in a relationship? Are you respectful of your partners rights in your relationship. Have you ever even considered them?

Please look at the Bill of Sexual Rights and the Bill of Dating Rights and ask yourself if your are being respected and respectful of these rights.

BILL OF SEXUAL RIGHTS

I have a right to my own body.

I have a right to my own feelings, beliefs, opinions, and perceptions.

I have a right to trust my own values about sexual contact.

I have a right to set my own sexual limits.

I have a right to say “No.”

I have a right to say “Yes.”

I have a right to experience sexual pleasure.

I have a right to be sexually assertive.

I have a right to initiate a sexual relationship.

I have a right to be in control my sexual experiences.

I have a right to have a loving partner.

I have a right to my sexual preferences.

I have a right to have a partner who respects me and understands me.

I have a right to have a partner who willingly communicates with me.

I have a right to talk to my partner about the assault(s).

I have a right to ask questions.

I have a right to be told the truth.

I have a right to be loved.

DATING BILL OF RIGHTS

I have a right to:

Ask for a date

Refuse a date

Suggest activities

Refuse any activities, even if my date is excited about them

Have my own feelings and be able to express them

Say, “I think my friend is wrong and his actions are inappropriate”

Tell someone not to interrupt me

Have my limits and values respected

Tell my partner when I need affection

Refuse affection

Be heard

Refuse to lend money

Refuse sex any time, for any reason

Have friends and space aside from my partner I have the responsibility to:

Determine my limits and values

Respect the limits of others

Communicate clearly and honestly

Not violate the limits of others

Ask for help when I need it

Be considerate

Check my actions and decisions to determine whether they are good or bad for me

Set high goals for myself

  1. […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by RCASA. RCASA said: RCASA Wednesday Outreach with Corey: http://wp.me/pAwr3-du […]

Leave a Reply

