rcasa

RCASA Therapy Thursday: Meet Our New Intern Marri!

In Therapy on May 10, 2012 at 5:00 am

Hello RCASA Team!  My name is Marrisa (Marri) Clarke.  My practicum at RCASA begins on June 4, 2012 and my internship begins on September 3, 2012.  Although my practicum begins in June, I have had the privilege of volunteering at RCASA since Fall 2008!  I have served as both a hotline and a hospital accompaniment volunteer.  In addition to volunteering at RCASA, I began volunteering at Rappahannock Council on Domestic Violence (RCDV) in January 2009.  I volunteered primarily as an open group co-facilitator for female survivors of domestic violence.  Later in 2009 I was offered a part-time position at RCDV co-facilitating a male juvenile offender group.  Since beginning my volunteer and part-time positions, I find volunteering/working in a helping profession to be completely fulfilling and rewarding!!

I obtained a bachelors degree in Political Science from University of Mary Washington.  After graduating from UMW I worked for a few years in the federal government before focusing my career in Human Resources.  For approximately 10 years of my career I worked as a Human Resources Professional.  I obtained a Masters Degree in Management (concentration:  Human Resources Management) from University of Maryland University College.  I also became a certified Human Resources Professional a few years after attaining my degree in Human Resources.  Although there were aspects of human resources I enjoyed I often felt like I needed to be in a profession where I could help people with their problems.  I saw quite a few people in my career come to work with many issues that they did not know how to deal with.  However, as a Human Resources Professional I was not in a position to help them with their emotional issues.

Shortly after having my daughter in 2006 I took time off to not only spend with her, but to also rethink whether or not I wanted to continue working in Human Resources.  I did quite a bit of soul searching and decided, particularly since I was so passionate about reaching out and helping others, to focus on changing careers and gaining a degree in counseling.

Therefore, in Fall 2009 I began working towards a degree in Mental Health Counseling at Walden.  I finished my coursework in February 2012.  After I complete my practicum and internship I can graduate!

Finally and most importantly, everyone at RCASA has always been so helpful and knowledgeable!  The staff at RCASA is AWESOME!  I am so happy that I have the opportunity to complete my practicum and internship at RCASA.  Thank you!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 37 other followers

