rcasa

Prevention Tuesdays: Holiday Hope for Survivors

In Sexual Assault Awareness on December 27, 2011 at 4:01 am

As many people gather around with friends and family for the holidays, sometimes we forget those who are not able to spend the holidays with their loved ones. Please take a moment to send a holiday card to a survivor of prison rape. Just Detention International will transcribe your 250 word message into a card with your name (you may choose to put first name only). This cards make a huge difference in peoples lives.
What recipients have to say:
Rafael, a recipient of a holiday card through Just Detention’s 2010 campaign and victim of multiple assaults by state corrections officers, stated:

Here I was in my cell sitting on my bed on Christmas Eve, sad but hanging in there. My thoughts were on my mom who passed on in 2004, and thinking ‘man, this is my 24th Christmas behind bars.’ Then at about 4 pm the officer gave me some mail from JDI. I was surprised because I don’t get much mail. Being incarcerated for so long, friends and family have forgotten me or passed on. When I read the holiday cards my heart skipped a beat and I started to cry. Yes, this 46-year old hard-core convict was crying. The kind words of encouragement, blessing, and letting me know that I’m not forgotten from total strangers from far away shattered my emotions. Please let them all know that I love them all and will cherish their words in my heart. And yes, I will walk with my head up high and will share my story with no shame and will help others that find themselves in similar situations.

If you would like to participate you may visit JDI’s website to send a card:

http://justdetention.org/en/holiday-message.aspx

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 39 other followers

